The World Cup Tournament Format, Explained - Indoors Beauty

The World Cup Tournament Format, Explained

The World Cup Tournament Format, Explained

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is the occasion of the summer season for soccer followers around the globe, showcasing an every-four-years matchup between the perfect nationwide groups from around the globe. The event kicks off on July 20 and culminates within the ultimate match on Aug. 20, which means you have got a full month of heated soccer video games to sit up for. That stated, in case you’re new to following soccer or are curious how the US Women’s National Team would possibly fare, it’s possible you’ll be questioning how the World Cup event format works.

Great information: Keeping observe of the event is surprisingly simple, even in case you’re only a informal viewer or new to the game. Here’s what it is advisable to know in regards to the World Cup format, in keeping with official FIFA rules.

How Do Teams Qualify For the World Cup?

The 2023 World Cup has expanded the sphere of certified groups from 24 groups within the final version (in 2019) to 32 groups this time round. Two of these slots are computerized qualifiers for the co-host nations, Australia and New Zealand. (The males’s event, however, has sometimes hosted 32 groups. In 2026, it is increasing to 48 — that is simply one of many variations between the boys’s and girls’s World Cup.)

The different 30 slots had been decided by a sequence of qualifying competitions held all through 2022. Each main regional confederation (Asia, North America/Central America/the Caribbean, South America, Africa, and Europe) holds its personal qualifying competitions, qualifying 27 groups straight by means of these tournaments.

The ultimate three spots had been decided by the inter-confederation playoffs, which despatched the groups from every confederation that simply barely missed qualifying outright to at least one extra “play-off” event. For 2023, the results of that ultimate event was that three nations received the appropriate to ship their first-ever groups to the ladies’s World Cup: Haiti, Portugal, and Panama.

How Does the World Cup Tournament Work?

The Group Stage

The 32 qualifying groups had been seeded into 4 “pots” primarily based on their world rankings. Then, a drawing passed off to divide the groups into eight teams of 4 groups every. The first stage is named the “group stage,” with groups in every group taking part in round-robin fashion so that each one 4 groups in a given group play one another in each doable mixture.

During this stage, nobody is instantly eradicated. Instead, factors are assigned primarily based on the end result of every match: three factors for a win, one level for a draw, and nil factors for a loss. At the tip of the group stage, the factors will likely be tallied as much as decide who strikes on to the subsequent stage of the event.

The Knockout Stage

FIFA tallies up the factors every crew earned within the group stage, and the highest two groups from every of the eight teams will advance to the spherical of 16, starting the “knockout” stage. If there occurs to be a tie in factors on the finish of the group stage, then the FIFA rules set out a sequence of tie-breaking standards. There are a number of tiebreakers laid out, for use within the following order:

  • Largest purpose distinction in all group matches
  • Greatest variety of objectives scored in all group matches
  • Greatest variety of factors obtained within the group matches between
    the groups involved
  • Largest purpose distinction ensuing from the group matches between
    the groups involved
  • Greatest variety of objectives scored in all group matches between the
    groups involved
  • Highest crew conduct rating (primarily based on the variety of pink playing cards and yellow playing cards)

During the knockout stage, a single loss is sufficient to, properly, knock a crew out of the event. There are not any ties permitted from this stage onwards. If regulation time expires and the groups are tied, two 15-minute extra durations will likely be performed to interrupt the tie. If these two durations finish and there is nonetheless a tie, groups go to a penalty shootout to find out the winner.

Semifinals and Finals

Teams will proceed to be faraway from the event after a single loss up by means of the semifinals (the spherical with 4 groups remaining).

The two winners of the semifinal matches will advance to the championship (ultimate) match to find out who wins the highest prize and who’s the runner-up. Meanwhile, the 2 losers of the semifinals will face off in opposition to one another to find out who will end in third place and who will end “off the rostrum” in fourth.

Image Source: Getty / SOPA Images / Contributor

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like these