USWNT Wins Arthur Ashe Courage Award at 2023 ESPY Awards - Indoors Beauty

USWNT Wins Arthur Ashe Courage Award at 2023 ESPY Awards

USWNT Wins Arthur Ashe Courage Award at 2023 ESPY Awards

Just a few week earlier than the US Women’s National Team take the sector at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, they acquired an award for his or her work off the sector. At the 2023 ESPY Awards on July 12, the USWNT have been honored with the Arthur Ashe Courage Award — not for his or her soccer prowess, however for his or her history-making combat for equal pay.

The Arthur Ashe Courage Award is usually given to a deserving member, or group, in sports activities who make a distinction past the sector of play, and the USWNT was chosen as a result of their combat for equal pay “in the end set a brand new world commonplace in sports activities and had a ripple impact exterior of the sports activities world,” per ESPN.

Comedian Tiffany Haddish, who launched the award, stated all of it in her opening: “Tonight, we’re gonna honor a group of very well-known and really wonderful girls who determined it was time to combat for what they deserved. Because for many years they’ve been one of the best soccer staff within the world…but regardless of all that, the United States National Team nonetheless had to seek out the braveness to combat for the best, most important factor they deserved.” And that is equal pay.

In 2022, present and former members of the USWNT settled a class-action gender-discrimination lawsuit in opposition to the US Soccer Federation (USSF) for $24 million. This led to a landmark settlement through which the USSF assured equal pay for the USWNT and US Men’s National Team via 2028 — together with an equal break up of World Cup prize cash — changing into the primary federation on the earth to take action.

Christen Press, Sam Mewis, and Briana Scurry — all retired or present members of the USWNT — accepted the award for the staff.

As everybody who has been there for us all through this lengthy journey towards equality is aware of, our combat is just not over,” Press stated in her a part of the speech.When you play for the United States Women’s National Team, you are handed a torch and given the duty to hold the torch as far and as excessive as potential for the sake of girls’s equality. As a staff and with the help and encouragement of numerous others, we’ve got been proud to carry it ahead. Now, we want to construct a world the place we create 1000’s of torches, thousands and thousands, and the equality we’ve got achieved spreads all through the world.”

Though the USWNT’s equal-pay victory is a big step ahead, there’s nonetheless a protracted method to go to shut the gender pay hole in sports activities — within the US and around the globe. The 2022 FIFA Men’s World Cup prize cash amounted to $440 million, for instance, whereas the prize pool for the upcoming girls’s event in Australia and New Zealand is simply $152 million — and that is 3 times the quantity that was given out at the final Women’s World Cup, per FIFA.

Still, through the USWNT’s media day on June 27, staff veteran Megan Rapinoe, who led the cost within the staff’s equal-pay lawsuit, instructed reporters that she feels a “paradigm shift” occurring in girls’s sports activities, in response to Reuters.

“The form of acceptable cognitive dissonance and simply denial of what we truly are and the way unimaginable girls’s sports activities are . . . these days are, you recognize, just about lengthy gone,” she stated. And to her, this World Cup looks as if a turning level. “It seems like an actual alternative to form of like blow the lid off, simply when it comes to fanfare and media and sponsorships, and the form of bigger enterprise round this sport.”

Hopefully, their ESPY Award will solely assist additional that aim. Previous recipients of the Arthur Ashe Courage Award embody athletes and nonathletes who’ve had a huge effect exterior of sports activities, together with Muhammad Ali (1997), Billie Jean King (1999), former president of South Africa Nelson Mandela (2009), and Caitlyn Jenner (2015).

Watch the athletes’ full award acceptance speech beneath, and tune in to see the USWNT play at the Women’s World Cup beginning July 21. See their full World Cup schedule right here.

Image Source: Getty / Gilbert Flores

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like these